Washing Machine Help Forum

Indesit W123 - drum not spinning

This forum is for support, help and questions you have about washing machines and washer dryers. For washing machine spares click here

Moderators: Jackal, Del, Dave_Conway, don, iadom, Penguin45, r600a, johnmac11, eastlmark, Dales-Electronic, dquinn

Buy spare parts for washing machines

“Washing
Buy washing machine spare parts in our store for all major washing machine makes and models including many low cost compatible spares or contact us and we will find the parts you need for you
Pay

• Advertisement

Indesit W123 - drum not spinning

Postby Tessa » Sun Jul 02, 2006 9:26 am

Hi

I turned my washing machine on this morning and it made a grinding noise and now the drum does not spin at all but it makes the right noises.

I'm a total novice :oops: ... so just looking for some advise as to whats happened and how much to expect to pay for a repair :(

Any help appreciated!

Tessa
x
Tessa
Whitegoods Newbie
Whitegoods Newbie

Advertisement

Smelly washing machines

Buy Affresh washing machine cleaner here to stop bad smells from your washing machine
If your washing machine stinks, smells bad or emits strange odours it is most likely to be caused by bacteria build up in the washer. To clean this we recommend using Affresh that you can buy here to clean out the bacteria. And for more detailed advice on washing machine odour you can read our article all about smelly washing machines here

Re: Indesit W123 - drum not spinning

Postby Penguin45 » Sun Jul 02, 2006 1:26 pm

If the drum is not turning but the computer has not faulted, the belt is off or broken. The grinding noise is not a good sign - has the machine been getting noisier on spin recently? This can be a sign of drum bearing failure, which can throw the belt off. If this is the case, the belt is the least of your problems!