Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hoover Diagnostic 'Tool'

Hi,

I live on a remote island off the west coast of Scotland where getting anything electrical repaired is a real problem as engineers will generally simply not come out here. I work part-time for the island estate as a general handyman.

I have a fair degree of electrical and mechanical knowledge and experience.

We have a Hoover Visiontech Infinity VTV 590NC-80 clothes dryer which has developed a fault. It apparently 'just stopped working' (no lights or anything) and on replacing the PCB it now starts for about 10 seconds (drum rotating and heat produced - it draws ~9A from the mains with drum rotation and heat and ~ 0.8A drum rotation alone) before all the LEDs start to flash every second, all-together, the drum stops, the heat stops and then the drum starts again but with no heat and the lights continue to flash until the machine is turned off. So it appears to go into some sort of fault mode.

I have so far replaced, the PCB (twice), the non-resettable (fuse?) thermostat (on the front next to the fluff filter box) the NTC sensor (in much the same place), the mains filter (on the mains supply cable) and the heater element which comes complete with 2 other thermostats as a complete unit. In fact the only electrical component that I have not replaced (yet) is the motor. The door switch tests as OK with continuity when door is shut and none when open.

The unit is in generally very good condition being a bit more than 1 year old.

Questions:-
    1/ Does anyone have any ideas as to what to try next to get it going? We only have the one dryer of this type so swapping bits off a working one is not possible.